February 2019
News & Resources

People in the industry

Michele Cowart / World Oil

Marathon Oil Corporation’s board of directors has named Lee Tillman as chairman. Tillman will continue to serve as president and CEO, a position he has held since 2013. He succeeds Dennis Reilley, who has elected to retire after nearly six years as chairman and more than 17 years on the company’s board of directors. In addition, the board has appointed Gregory Boyce as its lead independent director. Boyce has been a director of the company since 2008.

Independent operator Faroe Petroleum has appointed Bjørn Dale as chairman of the company. In addition, Ørjan Gjerde has been appointed as non-executive director of the company with immediate effect. John Bentley (chairman), Graham Stewart (CEO), Helge Hammer (COO), Jonathan Cooper (CFO) and Roger Witts have resigned as directors of the company.

MFG Chemical, a specialty and custom chemical manufacturing company, has named Darin Gyomory as CFO. Gyomory brings 25 years of experience to the company, having served as CFO of WL Plastics (INEOS), Scepter Inc., and area controller at Dean Foods. 

ROVOP, the independent provider of subsea remotely operated vehicle (ROV) services, has appointed Lee Wilson to head of technology. Wilson joins the company from Subsea 7, where held the role of ROV and autonomy program manager.

Halliburton Company has selected Mark Richard, previously senior V.P. northern region, to succeed Jim Brown as president of the Western Hemisphere. Richard began his career with the company in 1984 in the Gulf of Mexico. Since then, he has held numerous positions of increasing responsibility, including V.P. of the Gulf of Mexico Region, senior V.P. of the Asia Pacific Region, and senior V.P. of the Europe/Sub-Saharan Africa and Eurasia Regions, and senior V.P. of global business development & marketing. 

Chevron Corporation has named Pierre Breber V.P. and CFO, effective April 1, 2019. After joining the company in 1989, Breber became V.P. and treasurer in 2009, V.P. of gas & midstream in 2014, executive V.P. of gas & midstream in 2015 and executive V.P. of downstream and chemicals, his current position, in 2016. He will replace Patricia Yarrington, who has elected to retire after 38 years of service with the company. 

David Lang has joined King & Spalding as a partner with the corporate, finance and investments practice group in Houston. Lang, who previously served as global head of Baker McKenzie’s Liquefied Natural Gas practice, began his career with the firm. His practice focuses on energy infrastructure development, acquisition and disposition, with particular expertise in LNG

Jon Rogers has been named CEO of Locus Bio-Energy Solutions, a disruptive technology company whose unique bio-chemical based production and drilling fluid chemistries are increasing oil production and safety. Rogers plans to open and staff new facilities in the Houston area, to support growth throughout the U.S., with a focus on Permian basin. Prior to joining the company, he was global head of BL Oil Services at Clariant, had overall P&L leadership and responsibility for operations throughout 76 countries, and held roles including global technology director at BP. In addition, Rogers is a fellow of the prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry.

ICR Integrity has appointed Richard Wilson as COO and Alan McQuade as CFO to support the business’ international growth strategy. Wilson brings 30 years of operational and commercial experience to the role. He is a qualified engineer, and spent over 12 years with Sparrows Offshore, latterly as a director of operations. In addition, McQuade is a chartered accountant with over 12 years of experience. Prior to this he served as CFO of two of Acteon Group’s operating companies. 

Airborne Oil & Gas has appointed Renato Bastos as V.P. Brazil. Bastos brings over 20 years of experience in the SURF market for installation of flexible pipe. His previous roles include ship operations manager and technical director, and most recently, he held the role of subsea projects director subsea for Ocyan.

TAM International, Inc., an independent oilfield services company providing inflatable and swellable packers to the oil and gas industry, has named Barton Sponchia as V.P. Western Hemisphere. Sponchia joined the company in 2016 as global business development manager, and brings over 28 years of experience to the company. Prior to this, he held various management positions at BHGE, Schlumberger and Archer Well Company. In addition, he has been active in promoting new technologies in the industry as an instructor, inventor, and board member of technical organizations.

Valor Mineral Management, LLC, a management and advisory firm based in Fort Worth and Midland, Texas, has added Ed McCabe, Greg McCabe and R. Wesley Moncrief, Jr. to its board of advisors. Combined, Ed and Greg add over 60 years of industry management experience to the team. Ed is the president of McCabe Energy, Inc, and for over 35 years has been active in Permian basin. Greg is an experienced geologist who brings over 32 years of industry experience to the company. He is a principal of numerous oil and gas focused entities. Moncrief is a fourth-generation oil and gas executive, and leader at Moncrief Oil.

Nizami Musayev joins Tendeka as Russia area manager. Prior to this he was responsible for completion business growth at Interwell, and held various roles, with increasing responsibility at Schlumberger over a 19-year period.

ProSep, a technology and service provider for integrated process solutions to the global energy industry, has named Raul Gonzalo as its Middle East regional sales and service manager. Gonzalo has been involved in project management, service sales, product development and commissioning of mixers and other process equipment, during his four years with the company. In addition, Ryan McPherson left the firm to join EIC as Middle East Director.

Maersk Drilling has strengthened its board of directors in preparation for its independent listing on Nasdaq Copenhagen. CEO Jørn Madsen and CFO Jesper Ridder Olsen will continue to constitute the executive management team. Claus V. Hemmingsen, chairman since 2016, will continue as chairman and Robert M. Uggla will be appointed vice chairman of the board. Both will constitute the chairmanship of the company. In addition, other board members have been appointed, including Kathleen McAllister, former CEO, CFO and board member of Transocean Partners LLC; Robert Routs, former executive director of Royal Dutch Shell plc. and Martin N. Larsen, CFO of A.P. Moller Holding A/S. Furthermore, current member, Mads Winther, senior V.P. and head of strategy and M&A, energy division, A.P. Moller, Maersk, will not be proposed as a member of the board in the future listed company and will step down in connection with the listing. 

About the Authors
Michele Cowart
World Oil
Michele Cowart Michele.Cowart@WorldOil.com
Connect with World Oil
Connect with World Oil, the upstream industry's most trusted source of forecast data, industry trends, and insights into operational and technological advances.