2022 World Oil Awards finalists announced

August 12, 2022

World Oil leadership congratulates the finalists for its 2022 World Oil Awards, which were carefully selected from a record number of nominations.

The World Oil judging team selected finalists for each of the 18 categories from a pool of 303 nominations. The winners will be announced at the 2022 World Oil Awards ceremony on Oct. 13 at The Houstonian in Houston, Texas.

“The World Oil Awards are the premier annual venue for recognizing the finest in upstream technological innovation and achievement,” said World Oil Editor-in-Chief Kurt Abraham.

The finalists are as follows, in no particular order:

Best Completion Technology Award

  • 3M™ Ceramic Sand Screens – 3M
  • inVision™ – Intelligent Wellhead Systems
  • OptaSense Multiwell DAS Strain Monitor – OptaSense
  • PetroGuard® Armour Sand Control Screen – Halliburton
  • SPM™ Simplified Frac Iron System – SPM Oil & Gas
  • TITAN® Direct Drive Turbine Technology – BJ Energy Solutions

Best Data Management and Application Solution Award

  • Advanced Flow Analytics – Fossilytics Engineered Solutions
  • Engineering Collaborative Environment – SBM Offshore
  • eWATCH-Sustainable Operations Cockpit Digital Platform: Real-Time CO2 Footprint Tracking of Oilfield Chemical Operations – Clariant
  • Fluid Intelligence – Newpark
  • PaleoScan, VDS and FAST, The OSDU Data Platform on AWS – Amazon Web Services, Bluware, and Eliis
  • Real-Time Reservoir Fluid Identification – Equinor

Best Deepwater Technology Award

  • 750 Ton J-Slot Tool – Expro
  • BrightStar® Service – Halliburton
  • Fuzion™-H Wet-Mate Connector – Halliburton
  • Managed Pressure Drilling and Riser Gas Handling (“MPD” and “RGH”) System – Oil States Industries
  • PeriScope Edge Multilayer Mapping-While-Drilling Service - Schlumberger

Best Digital Transformation Award

  • Akselos Digital Twin – Akselos
  • Autonomous Directional Drilling – Schlumberger
  • AWS & IBM Collaboration for the OSDUTM Data Platform – Amazon Web Services and IBM
  • Intelligent SAOO Center of Operation and Production Excellence (iSCOPE) – Saudi Aramco
  • ProductionLink™ Edge Smart Artificial Lift Automation Solution – Baker Hughes
  • Southeast Asia Project – Halliburton

Best Drilling Technology Award

  • GeoSphere 360* 3D Reservoir Mapping-While-Drilling Service – Schlumberger
  • Halliburton Cerebro Force™ In-Bit Sensing – Halliburton
  • Magnus™ Rotary Steerable System – Weatherford
  • Merlin™ 15K HPHT Riser System – Oil States Industries
  • SAGE - Saudi Aramco Geomechanics Expert – Saudi Aramco

Best EOR Technology Award

  • ELEVATE™ CO2 Soluble Foaming Surfactant for Reservoir Conformance Improvement – ConocoPhillips, Dow, and Maverick Natural Resources
  • Leistritz Plunger Assisting Multiphase Pump (PAMP) – Leistritz Advanced Technologies
  • Metallic Tuned Water Injection – Repsol Sinopec Brasil
  • PermaFLO™ Solid Inhibitor Particles – Baker Hughes
  • WaterWeb® - Halliburton

Best Exploration Technology Award

  • Airborne micro-TEM and physics-deep learning: A Solution for Seismic Near Surface Corrections in Sand-Covered Areas – Saudi Aramco
  • Automated Geosteering – Helmerich & Payne
  • DecisionSpace® 365 Seismic Processing Essentials – Halliburton Landmark
  • Land Seismic Acquisition by Swarm of UAVs – Saudi Aramco
  • PureFlex Surface Fluids Logging While-Drilling Service - Schlumberger

Best Oilfield Fluids and Chemicals Award

  • DELTA-TEQ™XT – Baker Hughes
  • BaraHib™ Gold ─ Trackable Inhibitive System – Halliburton Baroid
  • Combined Kinetic Hydrate Inhibitor and H2S Scavenger, HYDT16919A – ChampionX
  • Downhole Scale Mitigation Program – Clariant and Saudi Aramco
  • Nviros™ – Newpark
  • OneSTEP EF Efficient, Low-Risk Sandstone Stimulation Solution – Chevron and Schlumberger

Best Outreach Program

  • Artificial Intelligence Energy Camp – Consumer Energy Education Foundation
    Oklahoma Energy Resources Board

Best Production Technology Award

  • ADAPT Technology – Clariant Oil Services
  • E-Mission™ – TechnipFMC
  • HIGH RISE™ Series Pumps – ChampionX
  • Hydro-Helical® - Summit ESP® - A Halliburton Service
  • QuickSet™ Gas Compression Control Skid – Liftrock LLC
  • Sandstone Divert with Breaker D – Baker Hughes

Best Water Management Technology Award

  • A Sustainable Produced Water Management Technology for Circular Water Economy – Saudi Aramco
  • FloBoost™ SWD Injectivity Aid – Locus Bio-Energy Solutions
  • Predictive Analysis Water Optimization Process – Universal Pressure Pumping, Inc.
  • Recovering Clean Water for Reuse from High Salinity Oilfield Produced Water utilizing Bechtel’s LowEnergy Ejector Desalination System (LEEDS) – Bechtel and Aramco Americas

Best Well Integrity Technology Award

  • EC- Monitor – Enhanced Drilling and Transocean
  • Intelligent Safety Valve – Tendeka
  • IR 4.0 Well Tubulars Safety Programs – Saudi Aramco
  • Obex™ Family of Casing Annulus Packers - Halliburton
  • Wellbarrier Well Integrity Life Cycle Solution – Schlumberger
  • Wellhead Load Relief System – Oceaneering

Best Well Intervention Award

  • Intelligent Extreme Autonomous Digital Intervention – Schlumberger
  • Kinetic Blowout Stopper (K-BOS) – Kinetic Energy and Saudi Aramco
  • SafeGrip® - Halliburton
  • Ultra-Compact Hot Tap Unit – Cudd Well Control
  • WellRobot/TTILT – Ouronova, Repsol Sinopec Brasil and PUC-Rio
  • X-treme™ WindowMaster™ Whipstock System – Baker Hughes

Health, Safety, Environment/Sustainable Development Offshore Award

  • A Cost-Effective Recirculation of Offshore Aged Pipelines for Promoting Marine Biodiversity by Creating Artificial Coral Reefs – Saudi Aramco
  • AberGreen: Prime Example of a Net Carbon Zero Oilfield Production Chemical Manufacturing Facility for Offshore Services – Clariant
  • AI-driven Automated Safety Observation Program – FENNEX
  • BlueWind: The Next Generation of the Offshore Microgrid – Siemens Energy
  • Centri-FI Consolidated Control Console – Expro
  • Video Intelligence Powered by Agora - Schlumberger

Health, Safety, Environment/Sustainable Development Onshore Award

  • Autonomous Operations – Wood PLC
  • Cat® Oil & Gas Carbon-Reducing Solutions – Caterpillar
  • Engine Management – Helmerich & Payne
  • Intelligent Power Management – Schlumberger
  • Non-Triazine Based H2S Scavenger – Clariant Corporation
  • VortexPrime Direct-Drive Turbine Technology Powered by Natural Gas – Catalyst Energy Services

Innovative Thinker Award (Individual)

  • Amit Katiyar – Dow Inc.
  • Dr. Hui-Hai Liu – Aramco Americas
  • Joe Etheridge – Encino Environmental Services
  • Rocco DiFoggio – Baker Hughes
  • Tao Yang - Equinor

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Bobby Chapman – Catalyst Energy Services
  • Chris Wright – Liberty Energy
  • Galen Cobb – Halliburton (Retired)
  • Garret “Hank” Danos – Danos
  • Harold Hamm – Continental Resources
  • Lonnie Helms - Halliburton

New Horizons Idea Award

  • Engineering of Injection Water Chemistry for Sustainable Enhanced Oil Recovery – Saudi Aramco
  • Extended-Release Nanoparticle-Enabled Platform Technology – ChampionX
  • Galea™ – Autonomous Well Intervention System – Expro
  • INNOVATION FACTORI – Schlumberger
  • i-Trak™ Automated Reservoir Navigation Service – Baker Hughes
  • Permedia® CO2 Toolkit: De-risking Long-Term Carbon Storage with Accurate Flow Dynamic Analysis of Injected CO2 – Halliburton Landmark

Click here to register for the event.

Connect with World Oil
Connect with World Oil, the upstream industry's most trusted source of forecast data, industry trends, and insights into operational and technological advances.